Parts of Speech: Conjunction

Parts of speech contains words that have distinctive meanings and functions that, together, makes a sentence clear. There are 8 parts of speech in the English grammar and are as follows: noun, pronoun, verb, adverb, adjective, conjunction, preposition, and interjection.

6. Conjunction

A conjunction is a word that joins other words, phrases, or clauses.

1.  Coordinate Conjunction is a word that joins other words, phrases, or clauses that are grammatically equal. These include and, but, or, nor, for, so, and yet.

ex:  My family will eat soup, salad, and pasta for dinner tonight.
ex:  We were on time for class but our teacher was late.

2.  Correlative Conjunction appears in pairs. These include either…or, neither…nor, both…and, not only…but also, and whether…or.

ex:  I can choose either a pen or pencil.
ex:  Not only was it dark outside, but also it was pouring rain.

3.  Subordinating Conjunctions are used to relate an independent with a dependent clause. Common subordinating conjunctions include after, although, as, because, once, since, until, and while.

ex:  Because my cell phone died, I had to use a calculator to do my homework.
ex:  I will start painting my room once I finish eating lunch.

PRACTICE

Find the conjunction(s) in each sentence

1.  She will have a sandwhich or chips and a drink
2.  I will start working on my project after I have a cup of coffee
3.  My friend caught the cold, so she is staying home tonight.
4.  I am not sure whether I lost my hat or I let someone borrow it.

Leave a Reply

